Why:
- A fifth of the company's sales reach their customers only through a firm the promoter family owns, not the company. Hy-Tech sold its American arm to the family in February 2022 and six weeks later gave that firm the exclusive right to sell its fittings across North America, Canada and Brazil (T1). The United States is 21.4% of revenue and contains the largest customer. The agreement can be ended, its terms are not disclosed, and the filing says the family may compete with the company afterwards. Buyers get the six factories; the American customer book stays with the family.
- The business improved once, three years ago, and then stopped. Operating margin jumped from 16.4% to 22.2% in FY2025 and went nowhere in FY2026 (T1). In the year before filing, sales at home grew half as fast as the year before, exports grew no faster than the market, costs per piece rose faster than prices, and about a third of the increase in pre-tax profit came from a currency move nobody expects to repeat.
- It is raising money it does not need, to build capacity where it already has too much. The company generated ₹30 cr of cash from operations last year and has funded ₹79 cr of expansion from its own pocket over three years (T1). Over half the new spending goes to two plants whose combined output actually fell over the last two years, and one of those quietly lost a quarter of its rated capacity with no explanation given.
Valuation at the band
| Floor ₹50 (T1) | Cap ₹53 (T1) | |
|---|---|---|
| Bid window | 24 to 27 August 2026 | |
| Fresh shares | 12,000,000 | 11,320,754 |
| Post-issue shares | 95,531,840 | 94,852,594 |
| Market value | ₹478 cr | ₹503 cr |
| Price to earnings | 21.1x | 22.3x |
| Price to earnings, stripping the currency gain | 22.2x | 23.3x |
| Enterprise value to operating profit | 11.8x | 12.4x |
| Same, after the ₹16 cr of debt the issue repays | 11.4x | 12.0x |
| Promoter holding after | 70.7% | 71.2% |
The company's own comparison table shows three listed peers at 69x, 107x and 230x earnings (T1), so 21x to 22x is far below them, though none of those three actually makes hydraulic fittings as its main business. The price does not change the verdict either way: the six ratings below judge the business and the shape of the offer, not what it costs.
The story
The engine is selling more steel fittings at home to makers of tractors and construction machinery, and the growth is almost entirely more pieces rather than better prices. Volume rose about 15% a year while the price per piece rose 2.4% a year. Farming is the part accelerating fastest, from 18% to 23% of sales in two years.
What this business is
Hy-Tech makes the small steel connectors that join hoses and pipes inside a hydraulic system. A tractor or excavator carries dozens of them, each costing about ₹56. The part is a tiny fraction of the machine's cost, but a leak in one stops the machine, which is the whole reason a buyer cares who made it.
It sells to businesses, not consumers: 170 direct customers plus seven distributors, with a catalogue of more than 11,000 different items. About 70% of sales are in India and 29% are exports, of which the United States is by far the largest. Six plants do the work. Five make fittings; the sixth, at Nashik, forges the blanks and feeds all the others, which is the one genuine structural advantage in the business.
Money is made on volume through fixed assets. Every fitting comes off the same machines from the same steel, so there is no high-margin corner of the range carrying the rest. Growth has to be bought with capital: roughly 72 paise of it for every extra rupee of annual sales, because stock sits for 152 days and customers take 91 days to pay.
Easy or difficult business? The individual part is run-of-the-mill, and the filing says so twice in its own words: low barriers to entry, low switching costs for buyers, and no real pricing power. More than 90% of the industry is small unorganised workshops. What is harder is doing all of it at once: holding 11,000 items in stock, keeping the quality approvals that carmakers and railways demand, forging your own blanks, and returning under 1% of what you ship. That combination is real, but it wins volume at a steady margin rather than the ability to charge more.
Key numbers
| ₹ cr | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue | 137.7 | 161.4 | 189.4 |
| Revenue growth % | n/a | 17.2 | 17.4 |
| Gross margin % | 63.9 | 65.4 | 65.2 |
| EBITDA | 22.6 | 35.8 | 41.7 |
| EBITDA margin % | 16.4 | 22.2 | 22.0 |
| PAT | 11.6 | 19.6 | 22.6 |
| PAT growth % | n/a | 69.2 | 15.2 |
Profit grew far faster than sales in FY2025 and then slowed sharply. Two things did it. About ₹2 cr of write-offs in FY2024 simply did not repeat, and the rest was the cost of running the factories being spread over more pieces, helped by steel getting about 9% cheaper that year. In FY2026 none of that continued: materials per piece went back up, spending on spare parts rose 47% and machine repairs 46% against 13% more output, and the company kept the same margin only because volumes grew.
Sales by customer industry (the company reports one business segment, so this is the only split it gives):
| Segment, ₹ cr | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Construction machinery | 35.3 | 37.9 | 43.5 |
| Construction machinery growth % | n/a | 7.3 | 14.7 |
| Farming | 24.8 | 30.3 | 43.2 |
| Farming growth % | n/a | 22.0 | 42.7 |
| Automotive | 15.0 | 16.3 | 17.1 |
| Automotive growth % | n/a | 8.6 | 5.2 |
| Not attributed to any industry | 48.6 | 59.5 | 65.1 |
That last row is a third of the company. The filing says it is sold through distributors, but all distributor sales together are only ₹22 cr, so about ₹43 cr of revenue has no stated end market at all.
Scorecard
| Block | Rating | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Right to win | MARGINAL | The Nashik forge is a real advantage and shows up in a 65% gross margin against 14% operating margin at the closest comparable maker, and the company is genuinely taking share at home, which independent tractor and construction-equipment volumes confirm. But the quality approvals it leans on do not cover Kavathe, the plant holding 40% of capacity and taking the largest share of new spending; new product additions have fallen 60% in two years; the closest specialist rival earns a better return on capital in every year disclosed; and for a fifth of revenue the route to the customer belongs to the promoter family rather than to the company. |
| Industry and TAM | MARGINAL | The pool is real but small at about ₹3,800 crore in India, and the specific opening the company is selling does not hold up: our own checking puts railways at roughly a quarter to a third of the size the filing claims, and the company has held the railway certification since 2023 while converting it into 1.5% of sales. |
| Financial momentum | MARGINAL | Good level, stalled direction: margin rose once in FY2025 on cheaper steel and better absorption, then flat, with home sales growth halving in the year before filing. |
| Risks, governance, RPTs | MARGINAL | Clean on paper (no litigation against the company, no contingent liabilities, no pledges), but a fifth of revenue routes through a family firm whose terms and accounts are not disclosed, and small compliance misses keep recurring. |
| Promoter and cap table | PASS | Built six plants since 1978 with no outside equity, absorbed ₹79 cr of spending while halving debt, and the share count is unusually clean with no options or convertibles. |
| Offer structure | MARGINAL | Well documented and honestly built, but it raises equity the company does not need and puts most of it into the two emptiest plants. |
Watch out for
- The American tariff position may be worse than the filing describes. The filing treats an 18% United States tariff as proposed. Our checking found it already in force with no engineering-goods exemption, and separately that steel pipe fittings were added to a different tariff list in August 2025 that now charges 25% to 50% on full value (T3). We could not confirm which customs code Hy-Tech's products fall under, so the size of this is genuinely unknown, but it sits on 21.4% of sales.
- Nothing is ordered yet. All the machinery the fresh money is meant to buy is still at the quotation stage, on quotes that expire around early October (T1).
- There is no order book. Every rupee of sales is on a purchase order with no committed volume, and the filing confirms there are no long-term contracts with any customer (T1).
- The expansion adds no forging capacity. The Nashik forge supports roughly 48 million pieces; after the expansion the fitting plants could make 67 million. The one real advantage does not scale with the plan.
The offer
- Raising about ₹136 cr in total: ₹60 cr of new money for the company, plus 14,289,450 existing shares sold by the founding couple, worth ₹71 cr to ₹76 cr at the band (T1).
- For new machines at three plants (₹30 cr), repaying bank loans (₹16 cr), and general purposes.
- Implied valuation is in the table at the top.
- Promoters hold 98.0% before the offer and sell about 17% of their own stake, keeping roughly 71% afterwards. The third promoter, the founders' son, sells nothing.
Assessment from the RHP, with no outside verification beyond the price band and offer dates, which come from the NSE and BSE public records, and the outside checking noted on this page. Numbers carry source tiers: (T1) the filing's audited sections, (T3) mainstream news and secondary sources, UNVERIFIED where nothing supports them. Not a recommendation. The valuation section states what the announced band implies and is not a view on whether that price is right.